” Snow Like Ashes ” by Sara Raasch : interview with author !

BANNER1Book Summary:

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving tumblr_static_snowlikeashesthem without magic or a monarch. Now the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.
 
Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend and future king, Mather—she would do anything to help Winter rise to power again.
 
So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore their magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers and fighting enemy soldiers just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics—and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.
 
Sara Raasch’s debut fantasy is a lightning-fast tale of loyalty, love, and finding one’s destiny.
 
Author’s Bio:
 
Sara_Author_Pic03(websize)Sara Raasch has known she was destined for bookish things since the age of five, when her friends had a lemonade stand and she tagged along to sell her hand-drawn picture books too. Not much has changed since then — her friends still cock concerned eyebrows when she attempts to draw things and her enthusiasm for the written word still drives her to extreme measures. Her debut YA fantasy, SNOW LIKE ASHES, the first in a trilogy, comes out October 14, 2014 from Balzer + Bray. It does not feature her hand-drawn pictures.
 
 

1.) Thank you very much for agreeing to do this interview .Tell us more about yourself.

I’m twenty four years old (twenty five on Aug 26!) and currently live just outside Washington DC with my husband and cat (who fancies himself quite the little bug assassin).
 
2.) When and how did you discover your passion for writing?
 
I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. One of my earliest memories is of setting up a lemonade stand with my cousins and trying to sell my (very bad) hand drawn picture books. I’m pretty sure there is ink in my veins instead of blood 😉
 
 
3.) How long did it take to write „Snow like Ashes”?
 
I started the first draft when I was twelve (more than half my life ago!) and worked on the whole trilogy up through college, when I shelved it for other projects. About three years ago, I started rewriting it – the characters, the world, the story all stayed with me, and diving back into it was like coming home again!
 
4.) It was hard to get your book published ?
 
Very! Between getting an agent, switching agents, being on sub for a different book for two years, and seven other projects, it was definitely an emotional roller coaster – but one that was infinitely worthwhile!
 
5.) In your opinion what is the most realistic thing about „A Song Of Ice And Fire” series?
 
Actually…I haven’t read it. *ducks thrown objects*
I have great respect for the series, but it’s a little violent for my tastes!
 
6.) Have you ever imagined your book as a movie? Who will you cast as the main character? 
 
Of course! I think every author imagines their book as a movie at some point. I’ve seen a number of actresses that bring to mind Meira, my main character. I love Sarah Bolger (The Tudors, Once Upon A Time), and most recently Ksenia Solo (LOVE her snark!). 
 
7.) Which part was the most fun to write in the book? 
 
The action scenes by far! I adore writing action scenes – the fast pace, the blood pumping, heart racing intensity. The pages just fly by!
 
8.) Tell us three books you have enjoyed readings?
 
Oh gosh, only three??
I recently re-read Sharon Shinn’s Twelve Houses series. There are four books (plus one companion) and they are all fantastic. The world building is amazing, the characters are incredibly addictive. I recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy!
 
9.) What do you know about Romania?
 
A little! I had a friend in college who was Romanian, and I love the culture. One of the kingdoms that comes into play in Book 3 is loosely based on eastern European/Romanian culture. So much amazing history there!
 
10.)Do you have a message for my blog`s followers?
 
One of my favorite quotes: Keep Moving Forward. 
 

 
 
Spam-ul nu este permis pe acest blog !

