„Catch a Falling Star” by Kim Culbertson: interview with author ! [EN+RO]

kim culbertson catch a falling starRO: M-am hotarat ca de acum inainte sa adaug [EN+RO] la interviurile traduse in romana ca sa fie mai usor sa va dati seama 🙂 Traducerile in romana se afla sub versiunea in engleza.Daca apreciati efortul depus si doriti mai multe interviuri traduse,urmariti blogul prin e-mail 😀

EN: About the book:

41tZbptWLWL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_A deliciously charming novel about finding true love . . . and yourself.

Nothing ever happens in Little, CA. Which is just the way Carter Moon likes it. But when Hollywood arrives to film a movie starring former child star turned PR mess Adam Jakes, everything changes. Carter’s town becomes a giant glittery set and, much to her annoyance, everyone is starry-eyed for Adam. Carter seems to be the only girl not falling all over herself to get a glimpse of him. Which apparently makes her perfect for the secret offer of a lifetime: playing the role of Adam’s girlfriend while he’s in town, to improve his public image, in exchange for a hefty paycheck. Her family really needs the money and so Carters agrees. But it turns out Adam isn’t at all who she thought he was. As they grow closer, their relationship walks a blurry line between what’s real and what’s fake, and Carter must open her eyes to the scariest of unexplored worlds – her future. Can Carter figure out what she wants out of life AND get the guy? Or are there no Hollywood endings in real life?

About the author:

authorpicKim Culbertson is the author of CATCH A FALLING STAR; INSTRUCTIONS FOR A BROKEN HEART, a Northern California Book Award winner; and SONGS FOR A TEENAGE NOMAD. When she’s not writing young adult novels, she teaches high school English and writing. Kim lives with her husband and their daughter in northern California. For more about Kim, visit http://www.kimculbertson.com.

1.)Tell us something about yourself.

I love books.  I love reading them; I love writing them; I love talking about them.  I think books make the world a better place to live.  I became a high school English teacher when I was 22 and have been teaching ever since.  I love sharing my passion for reading with teenagers and am grateful they share their ideas, loves, and interests with me.  Over the years, I feel like being a teacher has greatly enriched my life.  I also have a lovely nine year old daughter and we love to read together.  My husband is also in education and loves to read too so it’s wonderful to be a part of a family of readers.

 2.) What have inspired you to write ‘Catch a Falling Star’?

My students often inspire what I choose to write about.  A couple of years ago, two of my students were having a conversation and one of them was teasing the other one about how much time she spent on social media to which she replied “Everyone wants to be famous.”  And another quiet student of mine said, “Not everyone.”  And the way he said it…it gave me the seed of a character (who would eventually become Carter Moon), a girl happy with her small town life, with no interest in the bigger world out there and what would happen if she had that security rattled by Hollywood.

 3.) What is more exciting for you : writing or reading?

For me, they are such an extension of each other.  C.S. Lewis wrote, “We read to know we’re not alone,” and I think that’s why I write too:  for the human connection, for the understanding that we’re all in this big, crazy world together. 

 4.) What is your favorite book ?

I don’t have a favorite book, but I do have a favorite type of voice.  I always look for voice in a novel – I tend to like a voice that has a thread of humor connected to a universal human theme.  And I like hopeful books, books that, even if they deal with sad or dark issues, always find the beauty and hope in the absurdity of the world.  I love books like Jessi Kirby’s Golden and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Jonathan Tropper’s This is Where I Leave You and Matt Haig’s The Humans for this reason. 

 5.) How do you imagine „Catch a Falling Star” as a movie? Have you imagined a perfect cast?

When I imagine it as a movie, I imagine more the style that I hope it would have – that it would have a feel like Dan in Real Life meets Devil Wears Prada.  I know that seems like a weird mash-up but I love both of those movies for how amazing the acting is in both of those films, for how beautifully they are both filmed.  And if it could star Stanley Tucci or Greg Kinnear or Steve Carell as Carter’s dad, Mike Moon, I would be thrilled.  Because I adore those men as actors.   Also, in my mind it would be a beautiful thing to have a wonderful unknown actress play Carter Moon and someone really famous play Adam Jakes.  It would add a nice meta-quality to it.  And it wouldn’t hurt if that super famous boy looked like Ryan Reynold’s teenage brother. 

6.) Writing is a hobby or a career?

I see writing novels as part of my career but I don’t want to stop teaching.  I love teaching high school and I really do feel like my novels are a place where I can explore what I see happening with my students.  In the last few years, I’ve cut down on my teaching so that I can write more but I’m hoping to always keep a balance of the two.

7.) Do you have a writing routine?

I think if they gave out rankings for writing routines I would place very low.  I am really bad about setting up a writing routine.  I try really hard to write each day and sometimes I write for twenty minutes and sometimes I write for eight hours.  I really do tend to work to a deadline.  I like long-range deadlines but each week is different.  Some weeks I write a lot more than others but I really try to make sure to get the manuscript done by when my editor needs it.

 8.) Tell us something that the rest of your readers don`t know about the book.

Much of Little, CA is based on my hometown, Nevada City, CA, though I’ve also changed it to fit the literary needs of the book. 

 9.)What do you think about paranormal books ?

I don’t read a lot of paranormal but I’ve always loved a good ghost story.

 10.) What do you think about my blog ? 🙂

I wish I could read it!!  

 11.) Do you have a message for my blog`s followers ? 🙂

My message is to thank them:  thank you for being readers, for believing in the power of books!

RO:

1.) Spune-ne ceva despre tine.

Iubesc cartile;Iubesc sa le citesc;Iubesc sa le scriu;Iubesc sa vorbesc despre ele.Cred ca ele fac lumea un loc mai bun.Am devenit o profesoara de engleza pentru liceu cand aveam 22 de ani si predau inca ed atunci.Iubesc sa impartasesc pasiunea pentru citit cu adolescentii si sunt recunoscatoare pentru faptul ca ei imi impartasesc ideile,iubirile si interesele.De-alungul anilor am realizat ca meseria de profesor mi-a imbunatatit viata. De asemenea am o fetita draguta de noua ani si ne place sa citim impreuna.Sotul meu este tot in sistemul de invatamant si iubeste sa citeasca,asadar este minunat sa traiesti intr-o familie de cititori.

2.) Ce te-a inspirat sa scri „Catch a Falling Star” ?

Elevii mei ma inspira de obice cand ma gandesc despre ce sa scriu. Acum cativa ani,doi dintre elevii mei vorbeau si unul dintre ei il critica pe celalalt despre cat timp petrece pe retelele de socializare,la care ea a replicat „Toata lumea vrea sa fie faimoasa” .Si un alt elev de obicei tacut a spus „Nu toata lumea”.Si felul in care a spus-o… Mi-a dat ideea unui nou personaj(care a devenit mai tarziu Carter Moon),o fata fericita cu viata ei intr-un oras mic , fara niciun interes in lumea cea mare si ce s-ar intampla daca ar avea securitatea asigurata de cei de la Hollywood.

3.) Ce este mai placut: scrisul sau cititul ?

Pentru mine,fiecare este o extensie a celuilalt. C.S. Lewis a scris ” Citim ca sa stim ca nu suntem siguri” si cred ca de asta si scriu: pentru contactul uman,pentru intelegerea ca suntem toti impreuna in aceasta mare si nebuna lume.

 4.) Care-i cartea ta preferata ?

Nu am o carte preferata,dar am un tip de narator preferat.Mereu ma uit dupa voce in poveste- Obisnuiesc sa iubesc o voce care are si un strop de umor conectat cu universul uman.Si imi plac cartile pline de speranta,cartile care,desi se vorbeste despre tristete sau ganduri negre,mereu gasesc frumusetea si speranta in absurditatea lumii.Imi plac cartile gen Golden de Jessi Kirby si Sub aceiasi stea de John Green si This is Where I Leave You de Jonathan Tropper  sau The Human de Matt Haig din acelasi motiv.  

5.) Cum iti imaginezi filmul „Catch a Falling Star” Ti-ai imaginat o distributie?

Cand imi imaginez cartea ca un film,imi imaginez mai mult stilul pe care mi-ar placea sa-l aiba -ca o sa se simta asemenea unei combinatii dintre Dan In Real Life si Devil Wears Prada.Stiu ca suna ca o combinatie ciudata dar iubesc ambele filme pentru felul grozav in care joaca actorii,pentru cat e frumos sunt ambele filmate.Si daca ar putea aparea Stanley Tucci sau Greg Kinnear sau Steve Carell in rolul tatalui lui Carter,Mike Moon,as fi incantata.Pentru ca imi plac acesti actori.De asemenea,imi imaginez ca ar fi un lucru minunat daca pe Carter Moon ar juca-o o actrita necunoscuta si cineva foarte faimos l-ar juca pe Adam Jakes.Ar adauga ceva deosibit filmului.Si ar fi grozav daca baiatul super faimos ar arata putin ca fratele adolescent al lui Ryan Reynold.  

6.) Scrisul este un hobby sau o cariera?

Vad scrisul ca o parte din cariera,dar nu vreau sa ma opresc din predat.Iubesc sa predau in liceu si cred ca romanele mele sunt un loc in care pot explora ce vad ca se intampla cu elevii mei.In ultimii ani,am luat pauze de la predat pentru a putea scrie mai mult dar sper sa pot tine o balanta intre ele.

7.) Ai o rutina de scris?

Cred ca daca s-ar da rating pentru rutina de scris m-as plasa undeva foarte jos.Sunt foarte rea la a stabili o rutina de scris.Incerc sa scriu ceva in fiecare zi si uneori scriu pentru douazeci de minute si uneori pentru opt ore.Ma gandesc la o limita de scris- Imi place sa scriu mult dar fiecare saptamana este diferita.In unele saptamani scriu mai mult decat in altele dar ma asigur ca termin manuscrisul cand editorul meu are nevoie de el.

 8.) Spune-ne ceva ce restul cititorilor nu stiu despre carte.

 Little,California este bazat foarte mult pe orasul meu natal,Nevada City,CA,dar l-am schimbat putin pentru a se incadra in stilul cartii.

 9.) Ce crezi despre cartile paranormale?

Nu citesc foarte mult paranormal,dar mereu mi-a placut o poveste buna cu fantome.

 10.) Ce crezi despre blogul meu?

Mi-as dori sa-l pot citi !!

 11.) Ai un mesaj pentru cititorii blogului ?

Mesajul meu este de a le multumi:va multumesc pentru ca sunteti cititori,pentru ca va incredeti in puterea cartilor !

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Spam-ul nu este permis pe acest blog !

