„Counting to D” by Kate Scott: interview with author !

kate scott counting to dAbout the book :

18518158The kids at Sam’s school never knew if they should make fun of her for being too smart or too dumb. That’s what it means to be dyslexic, smart, and illiterate. Sam is sick of it. So when her mom gets a job in a faraway city, Sam decides not to tell anyone about her little illiteracy problem. Without her paradox of a reputation, she falls in with a new group of highly competitive friends who call themselves the Brain Trust. When she meets Nate, her charming valedictorian lab partner, she declares her new reality perfect. But in order to keep it that way, she has to keep her learning disability a secret. The books are stacked against her and so are the lies. Sam’s got to get the grades, get the guy, and get it straight-without being able to read.

About the author :

_MG_1019Kate Scott lives in the suburbs outside Portland, Oregon with her husband Warren. Kate was diagnosed with dyslexia as a young child but somehow managed to fall in love with stories anyway. Counting to D is her first novel. When Kate isn’t writing, she enjoys listening to audiobooks, camping, and spending time with her friends and family. Kate also spends a lot of time doing math and sciency things and is a licensed professional engineer.

 1.) Tell us something about yourself. 

    I have always known I’d be a writer, but I haven’t always known I’d be a reader. I was born with both a serious learning disability and a wild imagination. Making up stories has always been my favorite hobby, and I’m very excited to finally be able to share my stories with the world.   

  2.) What inspired you to write Counting to D?   

  Counting to D is the story I always wanted to read when I was a teenager, but it didn’t exist. Eventually, I got tired of waiting for somebody else to write it and decided to write it myself.    

3.) What is more exciting for you: writing or reading?

     Both, but in different ways. I’ve always loved the feeling of being caught up in a great story. Lots of people read before bed, but I can’t. If I did, I would never sleep! It’s very difficult for me to put a book down once I start it, and I finish most books the same day that I start them. I tend to read relatively slowly and write relatively quickly. But I’ve never written a book in a day. When I get caught up in my own fiction, it can be a lot harder to untangle myself. So even though I LOVE writing, I often enjoy reading more, for the simple reason that it’s easier to finish someone else’s book and get back to my real life.   

4.) What is your favorite book?   

  It’s probably a tie between The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater and The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  

5.) Why?   

  Both of those books contain interesting, complex characters, beautiful writing, and a compelling story that travels in an unpredictable direction. The characters are always what draw me into a story, and I’ve met a lot of great characters. These two books were just the first two truly exceptional reads that popped into my head.   

6.) What do you think about ROMANIA?   

  I’ve never been to Romania, but I’ve heard it’s a beautiful country. I love to travel and sincerely hope I make it there someday. 

7.) Writing is a hobby or a career?    

Right now, it’s both, but I want it to stay a hobby forever.I like writing a lot, and it’s definitely my favorite hobby. The thing I don’t like is work. It’s called work for a reason—it isn’t play. I never want writing to feel like anything but play to me, and if I turn it into too much of a career, it will become work. So as much as I’d love to make money as a writer, I know I will always need to have something else going on in my life that feels more like my job. That way, I’ll be able to keep writing as my escape from work. 

8.) What do you think about Game Of Thrones? What about American Horror Story? 

I read the first book in the Game of Thrones series (actually, I listened to it, ‘cause that’s how I read most books). It was good, but long. I enjoyed it, but not enough to bother reading the second book. I’ve never seen the TV show. I’ve also never seen American Horror Story. I don’t have cable and don’t watch much TV. 

9.) Tell us something that the rest of your readers don`t know about the book. 

Hmm, I haven’t withheld much. Oh, I know, in my first draft, there was a lot of internal monologue, and it was all misspelled. I thought it would be a neat trick to force the reader to understand dyslexia better, but all of my early readers said it was really distracting and pulled them out of the story. So I cut it. 

10.) What do you think about paranormal books? 

Urban fantasy is one of my favorite genres to read. I’ve never written anything paranormal, but I may decide to cross genres in the future. The one thing that I don’t like in paranormal books is the human girl and supernatural boy love story. It’s so overdone and often with very little substance. Also, I have moral issues with encouraging girls to fantasize about dating predators. I’m all for paranormal adventure, though, and I love superheroes.  

11.) What do you think about my blog? 🙂 

I don’t speak Romanian and can’t read it. But it looks like you’re reviewing a lot of great books and movies. I’m sure all the teens in Romania appreciate your insights. 

12.) Do you have a message for my blog`s followers? 🙂

 Never be afraid to be yourself.

Un gând despre „„Counting to D” by Kate Scott: interview with author !

Spam-ul nu este permis pe acest blog !

