„Save the Enemy” by Arin Greenwood : interview with author !

arin greenwood save the enemyABOUT THE BOOK :

agreenwood-savetheenemy__spanEverything has been downhill since Zoey Trask’s mother was murdered in a random mugging. Her younger brother, Ben, is on the autistic spectrum and needs constant supervision. It’s senior year, and she’s the new girl at a weird private school in Old Town Alexandria, VA, full of kids who seem too nice to be true—including a very cute boy named Pete. Aside from half-forgotten martial arts and survivalist skills that her widowed father insisted on teaching her (because that is excellent for her social life), Zoey has nothing to offer Pete or anyone else.

Then Dad is kidnapped. Zoey suddenly finds herself sole caretaker of a younger brother she barely understands. Worse, Ben seems to hold the key to their father’s disappearance in his Dream Diary, a bizarre journal of names and places Ben claims that their mother shares from beyond the grave. And as if Zoey doesn’t have enough on her plate, there’s Pete, who stubbornly refuses to leave her side.

Relying on the skills she never wanted to learn—Dad might have had his reasons after all—Zoey is plunged into a lethal battle to rescue her father, protect her brother, and determine the identity of her family’s true enemy.

ABOUT AUTHOR:

34d30b90-343c-0131-6b95-266a74ad3551Arin Greenwood is a writer and former lawyer living just outside Washington, D.C., with her husband, Ray, their dog, Murray, and their cat, Derrick. Arin is an editor for The Huffington Post, covering things both nerdy and weird, like Virginia cats running for U.S. Senate, in and around the nation’s capital. Her stories have appeared in Slate, the Washington City Paper, the American Bar Association Journal, and dozens of other publications. Her first novel—Tropical Depression, published in 2011—was loosely based on the five-odd, sometimes very odd, years Arin spent lawyering on a small island near Guam. Save the Enemy is her first young adult novel. Read some of Arin’s stories and get in touch at http://www.aringreenwood.com.

 

1.)Tell us something about yourself.

I’ve been a vegetarian since I was six years old and am still crazy about animals. I dream of one day opening a dog petting zoo. I’m not sure it’s actually a good idea, though. But I think it might be a good idea.

2.) What inspired you to write ‘Save the Enemy’?

I got lucky, basically. A good friend gave a copy of my first book – an adult novel called Tropical Depression – to a friend of hers, who’s a young adult book editor. He thought I had a good voice for young adult, and the publisher he works for wanted a book about a libertarian father who gets kidnapped in Washington, D.C. I’ve spent a lot of time with libertarians – I’m married to one, in fact – and I live in D.C., so this was a world I felt like I could write about in what I hope is a realistic (and exciting!) way.

3.) What Christmas means to you?

I’m Jewish, so my family used to get Chinese food and go to the movies on Christmas – that’s the Jewish version of Christmas. And I loved it. But my husband’s family has a huge party every Christmas Eve, which is loads of fun – so now I think of Christmas as the time to go to New Jersey, eat a load of good food, see our niece and nephews and other relatives, and then eat some more good food.

4.) What is your favorite book?

Oh, goodness – I can’t choose one. Here are a few books that I really loved, that I’ve read in the last year or so: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, Just Kids by Patti Smith, Swamplandia by Karen Russell, Inside Of A Dog by Alexandra Horowitz, and A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami. I’ve also been devouring George Pelecanos books – he writes these really gritty mysteries set in D.C., where I live.

5.) Why ?

They’ve all got really strong narrative voices and they really take you inside of a world. All these books got me completely caught up in the crazy, scary, funny, exciting, mysterious, sexy worlds their characters are living in.

6.) What do you think about ROMANIA ?

I’ve heard it’s really beautiful. I’d love to come visit sometime. What should I be sure to see and do (and eat) while I’m there?

7.) What beautiful memories (related to books) you made in 2013?

Well…my second book came out!

8.) What do you think about GLEE ? What about Game Of Thrones ?

I only watched the first season of Glee, and I’ve never seen Game of Thrones. Am I missing out not watching these shows?

9.)  Tell us something that the rest of your readers don`t know about the book.

There is a big scene involving a meteorite. And some alpacas. I can’t say more without giving too much away…

10.)What do you think about paranormal books ?

You know, I’ve always been interested in things like witchcraft and ghosts and things like that, but I haven’t read a lot of paranormal books. Which ones should I pick up?

11.) What do you think about my blog ? 🙂

I wish I could read Romanian!

12.)  Do you have a message for my blog`s followers ? 🙂

Hello, and thanks for taking an interest in my book! Also, please come visit my dog petting zoo, once it’s up and running!!

cropped-dev-de-carti-sooner-copy.jpg

Spam-ul nu este permis pe acest blog !

