,, The Elites ” by Natasha Ngan : interview with author !

natasha ngan the elites

About the book :THE+ELITES+by+Natasha+Ngan

‘There is a rumour that the Elites don’t bleed.’

Hundreds of years into the future, wars, riots, resource crises and rising sea-levels have destroyed the old civilisations. Only one city has survived: Neo-Babel, a city full of cultures – and racial tension. Fifteen-year-old Silver is an Elite, a citizen of Neo-Babel chosen to guard the city due to her superior DNA. She’d never dream of leaving – but then she fails to prevent the assassination of Neo Babel’s president, setting off a chain of events more shocking and devastating than she could ever have imagined. Forced to flee the city with her best friend Butterfly (a boy with genetically-enhanced wings), Silver will have to fight to find her family, uncover the truth about Neo-Babel and come to terms with her complicated feelings for Butterfly.

Packed full of adventure, romance, exoticism and the power of friendship, THE ELITES is a highly compelling and beautifully written novel from a supremely talented debut author.

About the author :

IMG_9772   Natasha Ngan was born in St Albans, Hertfordshire, and spent her childhood in both the UK and Malaysia, where the Chinese side of her family is from. She also spent it living in two other worlds – reality, and her imagination. As an only child, books were her best friends, and though she now has real, physical, human friends, books are still every bit as important to her. Natasha has always (only) wanted to be an author. THE ELITES is her first novel, and she regularly blogs about her experiences of being a debut author. Outside of writing YA fiction, Natasha works as a freelance social media consultant and runs a fashion and photography blog with her boyfriend Callum (www.girlinthelens.com). Follow Natasha at: http://natashangan.com or on Twitter: @girlinthelens

 

AND NOW , the interview XD !!!

1.) Tell us something about yourself.

Here are some things people might not know about me … I studied Geography at university because I love books and words and writing so much I couldn’t bear studying English. I love video games. My favourite foods are tempura prawns, popcorn, M&S chocolate tubs and anything my mum cooks (especially her belly pork. I almost cried once it tasted so good).

2.) How did the idea for ` The Elites’ ?

The first thing about the book that came to me was the first line – „There is a rumour that the Elites don’t bleed.” I scribbled it down quickly, and a bunch of other ideas followed in snapshots – a city where people were streamed by their DNA, a boy with wings, explosions and tragic back-stories and a multicultural setting. It evolved from there over two years, because I was studying at the time so it wasn’t my priority. I’m glad I let it shape naturally in my mind – it changed a lot from the initial ideas, though those things I mentioned all stayed.

 

3.) Which character from , The Elites ‘ have influenced you ?

It’s so difficult to pick a favourite character as they’re all so real and flawed in their own ways, but I have to admit that I have so much love for Butterfly. He’s just such a good guy – loyal, sensitive, patient, though he could have turned out as an asshole given his back-story – and plus, he’s kind of modelled on my boyfriend!

4.)  What is your favorite book?

I have so many I couldn’t pick just one. Two books that I can read again and again, that made me cry and laugh and underline so many lines they’re practically blacked out are The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

5.) Why ?

(See above.)

6.) What do you think about ROMANIA ?

I’ve never visited but I have a few friends who are from there. I’ve heard it’s beautiful, with stunning countryside. The city of Neo-Babel is actually located in Eastern Europe (I don’t want to pin it down to one country), and in my second book that I’m currently writing, The Memory Keepers, one of the character’s mothers is from that area. Having studied Geography, so many of my ideas and influences come from particular places in our world. I find spaces and cultures so inspiring.

7.) Vampires are very popularized in last year . What do you think about vampires?

I actually have an idea for a vampire book that’s something like eight books down the line to write, though it’s more of a satire and is definitely not a typical vampire story. I love all things paranormal and mystical, so vampires are good in my books !

8.) What do you think about GLEE ? What about Game Of Thrones ?

I love love love Glee. It just makes me so happy watching it, and it’s quirky and weird too, which is great. I haven’t watched or read Game of Thrones but I do intend too – I’ve heard good things.

9.)  Tell us something that the rest of your readers don`t know about the book.

From the extract my publishers have shared, everyone’s hating on Ember. But maybe you should reserve judgement of her just yet. She’s certainly a villain in the story, but you’ll discover that she’s a victim too. I never like my characters to be one dimensional goodies or badies. No humans are like that. We’re all complicated, conflicted beings .

10.) What do you think about my blog ? 🙂

It’s great! I love book blogs. They’re such a great way to find varied opinions about books and hear all the latest news and stay updated.

11.)  Do you have a message for my blog`s followers ?

Thanks for reading this interview! I am a debut author (The Elites is my first book), so it’s so important that people help out as much as they can. If you think you’ll like it, please do buy it, and let your friends know what you think! I am so grateful to each and every one of my readers. Even if it affects just one reader, that’s good enough for me.

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Thank you,Natasha!

 

 


Spam-ul nu este permis pe acest blog !

